The Good Intent

When do we have
Good intent
Or are all motives
Hell bent

Do we ever see
The wood for the trees
Or do we say
Now instead of please

When did we last put
Someone else’s needs above our own
Or are all seeds selfish
And home grown

Some of us try
It has to be said
Not everyone is
As easily lead

Difficult to assess
At least some mind at all
Others only obsessed
With their latest investment shortfall

Could the definition be
A gesture with no gain
Some advice or generosity
With no refrain or distain

Let’s raise a glass
To all those who still care
Mine is a Hogstar
I’ll see you there

Mark Scotchford © 11/09/2021

About markious72

Here I wish to let my strange and vivid imagination and opinions run wild. I do hope you like what you read. I would love to be a writer, I won't pretend otherwise. Although it is only in the last couple of years that I have realised it. I guess if it meant to happen it will. Happy reading, happier writing. :-)
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment