A Child Trapped in a President’s Body

Let me start by stating I know we have our problems in England. One of the traits of the English, in general is to be abundantly arrogant, and this really annoys me. Something demonstrated rather disgustingly adeptly recently by an abhorrently ghastly snobby little young yob setting fire to a twenty pound note in front of a homeless person. I will write about this in another article but for now, with the English arrogance and our other many problems set to one side, let’s talk about America.

I know I am not American, and have never lived in America, or in fact ever been there, but it is a place I’ve always wanted to visit, up until now. I just can’t go there at the moment. It isn’t because of work restrictions or other commitments because I don’t have any, it is because of who is America’s current President.

You would think my predicament of never having been to America would make it rather impossible for me to have an opinion on it but alas, I’m going to have one. No doubt, millions would disagree but Barack Obama in my rose tinted view has been an incredible President. I didn’t like it when he started meddling in England affairs saying famously we “would be at the back of the queue” when it comes to trade agreements but aside from that, I think he has been great. Like I say, I am uneducated when it comes to what he has achieved, but I can see what he set out to do. There are many good things he wanted to do, and would have done, had it not been for the Senate and Congress. Health care and gun law reform were two worthwhile pursuits and would have had a positive outcome for America I am sure.

A couple of things I can comment on though, which do not require me to have a better understanding of American policy before I do is Barack’s demeanour, his aura, his personality.

He seems to be a thoroughly lovely chap, a really nice guy, who was trying to do well and make America a better place. Yes, some say he was a “soft” President and wasn’t tough enough in many decisions but he showed compassion, consideration, intellect, and a measured, proportionate response to most situations. In summary, he was Presidential whilst in office and appears charismatic and humbling out of it.

Whilst President he filed 276 Federal Executive Orders, that is an average of 34 a year. One of his first was called “Ensuring Lawful Interrogations.” This was swiftly followed by another, to dissolve the existence of Guantanamo Bay detention camp. In my view, these were very tough calls, but he still did them, and they signalled a new direction for the Country and a statement for his Presidency.

By contrast, Donald Trump has made 12 in 23 days. The first being to repeal “Obamacare”, and the third relating to Border Security and Immigration Enforcement. Do you know what the worst part of his presidency is for an onlooker to observe? It’s his behaviour, it is the way he has been throughout the whole campaign, and no doubt his whole life, and now, unfortunately his presidency.

Look at what he said throughout the campaign. It was all pantomime, almost all bravado, and a caricature of how someone should be. It was all a show to him. He incited violence and hate. He called upon voters to shoot Hilary Clinton, he stated categorically that Barack Obama Founded ISIS and for god’s sake, he was still elected. How? Why? Whenever things don’t go his way he has two default responses. They are either to bleat that things “aren’t fair” or to bully whoever or whatever has incensed him.

Look at the way he signs those Executive Orders. He doesn’t sign them like a President. He signs them as if he is a child in class who has all the sweets to himself. He has this smug, childish sense of “I won” all about his face. He reminds me of a six year old who just cannot contain his own glee at beating the other children in his class. That’s almost endearing to see in a six year old but to see a President behave like that, well it is just….. Oh, it’s horrible.

Here at home in England, we all would do well to remind ourselves we are supposed to live in a United Kingdom. For Donald Trump, someone has to remind him he is supposed to live in the UNITED States of America. Yes, Donald, that word is united, not divided.

Mark Scotchford © 11/02/2017

About markious72

Here I wish to let my strange and vivid imagination and opinions run wild. I do hope you like what you read. I would love to be a writer, I won't pretend otherwise. Although it is only in the last couple of years that I have realised it. I guess if it meant to happen it will. Happy reading, happier writing. :-)
This entry was posted in Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

