Rain Doesn’t Stop Play

Lonely in a crowd
Lowry said that
While he painted the industrial buildings
And many a black cat

Told he was no good
Initially by the established few
He didn’t seem to care
Neither should you

The hustle and bustle of London
No one shares a smile
Unless it’s someone they know
They just get drunk and dial

All those missed opportunities
The friends they could have made
Business contacts or more
The road ahead paved

They look straight on
Only their concern
What do they miss?
For what do they yearn?

Always fascinated by people
Such a sense of intrigue
The comfort of a stranger
Easier to leave

The opposite of me appeals
People that are unaware
Of consequences of actions
A willingness to share

Mark Scotchford © 20/07/2015

About markious72

Here I wish to let my strange and vivid imagination and opinions run wild. I do hope you like what you read. I would love to be a writer, I won't pretend otherwise. Although it is only in the last couple of years that I have realised it. I guess if it meant to happen it will. Happy reading, happier writing. :-)
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rain Doesn’t Stop Play

  1. l42nlb says:

    Beautifully expressed and certainly food for thought on a busy train……”a strange thing is the human being”

  2. Nancy Ruegg says:

    Oh, yes–those who look straight on miss so much! Lord, help me to take in the people, beauty, wonder, and experiences all around me, which you have provided. “True contentment is the power of getting out of any situation all that there is in it” –G.K. Chesterton. If our focus is small, so will be our contentment. Thank you, Mark, for a thought-provoking poem, and for becoming a follower of my blog, From the Inside Out. I pray you’ll find the posts meaningful!

Leave a Reply

