Embankment Cafe

Everyone in a hurry
Rushing past
Wherever to go
Getting there fast

No one seems to notice
What’s in front of their nose?
Fate sealed like an envelope
Is it what they chose?

A couple get close on a bench
No sense of time
Work colleagues or lovers?
They may have crossed a line

It all could be genuine
Neither wearing a ring
May be nothing to hide
Soaring on love’s wing

They retain my attention
Everyone else in solitude
The odd conversation heard
They were a gentle mood

Never any smiles
From those walking alone
Ironic but obvious I guess
Just want to get home

A plethora of people
All trotting by
Fundamental difference between here and Devon
No one here says ‘hi’

Mark Scotchford © 20/07/2015

About markious72

Here I wish to let my strange and vivid imagination and opinions run wild. I do hope you like what you read. I would love to be a writer, I won't pretend otherwise. Although it is only in the last couple of years that I have realised it. I guess if it meant to happen it will. Happy reading, happier writing. :-)
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embankment Cafe

  1. Bad Wolf says:

    Hi!

Leave a Reply

