The Sound Of Silence – Pause For Thought

I always used to think that silence wasn’t a sound. I thought silence isn’t anything, it is nothing. So how can it be a sound? Then I realized, sound is to hear, so hearing nothing is still hearing something. I know this is obvious now.

What does sound mean to you? That phrase, ‘an uncomfortable silence.’ I like it. I don’t know why. I don’t mean I like uncomfortable silences. To my mind I don’t think I have ever had one. I prefer to call them ‘pauses for thought.’

I like silence, actually I can go further than that, I love it. Do you? What sounds to you become a noise? Definition of noise seems to be ‘loud or unpleasant, or causes disturbance.’ Well for me, based on these definitions, whether we hear a sound or a noise is based upon personal choice. I definitely hear more noise than sounds. How about you?

A sound can be so welcome or the most annoying thing in the world. Yet, however much noises have frustrated me, I have never once wished I could not hear. My thoughts go out to those who can’t. Having had problems with ear infections etc I am always glad when they clear up.

Personally, I find comfort in silence, others despise it. I think it gives a great insight into our personalities and past experiences. I also find my view on sounds has changes as I have got older and has been directly influenced by my job. I remember months ago, I couldn’t listen to music, just didn’t want to hear it. Now, because I have left my job and currently don’t have one, I like music again. Sounds that used to annoy me don’t anymore. I know, when I get a new job, where I work and what I do will have a direct correlation between what sounds I like again and don’t.

Also, where we live plays a vital role, our immediate environment, and our general likes and dislikes.

I know this is all rather obvious but I have only just realized it really. I guess it is one of so many things in this life I have taken for granted.

There are sound certainties though. However much my life may change, there are always sounds I will like and there are always noises I don’t, unless circumstances are completely different. I will always love the sound of the sea for example. Hearing waves lapping or crashing at a shoreline I actually find to be one of life’s great pleasures. I guess that may well change if I was ever involved in a catastrophe at sea, or came close to drowning. What a positive outlook I have? I’m just trying to offer a counteraction to my own thoughts. I guess sounds are always personal and subjective.

I’m sure I will always love the sound of the sea, how about you?

Mark Scotchford © 05/07/2015

About markious72

Here I wish to let my strange and vivid imagination and opinions run wild. I do hope you like what you read. I would love to be a writer, I won't pretend otherwise. Although it is only in the last couple of years that I have realised it. I guess if it meant to happen it will. Happy reading, happier writing. :-)
This entry was posted in Prove I'm Wrong - Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

