Social Malaydia

Recent events in Malaysia with Eleanor Hawkins and her ‘friends’ just makes me wince for so many reasons. Their desecration of the sacred Mount Kinabulu really doesn’t help international diplomatic relations. Yet again social media has helped shame numerous families and fueled the content and accuracy of media news and coverage.

These are very intelligent young people so why does this kind of coverage keep on happening? Well, I guess because they are young, carefree, intoxicated and foolish upon occasion.

That’s all fine but they need to realise that actions have consequences, especially when you are daft enough to post those actions on social media for everyone to see.

The lessons to learn here are very simple:-

By all means, let your hair down, (and anything else you wish). By all means have fun and frolic and enjoy yourself, drink and be merry.

But, and in this case I guess that should be spelt with two ‘t’s’:-

• Respect where you are and the Country you are in and that Countries beliefs and customs
• If you do anything you shouldn’t don’t go and share it with the world on social media

I mean c’mon you do have to be pretty daft to do this don’t you? I don’t get why these teenagers can’t grasp this concept.

Doing something irresponsible is part of growing up, that I comprehend, but doing something that is darn right disrespectful and then posting photos of it for all to see is something quite another. Especially when this ‘for all to see’ includes the whole world. Do they get that? Hopefully they will now.

I get sharing exploits is something they want to do, I, like every teenager did some stupid things when I was young, but do it the old way. Just remember it, and sit in a park and a pub, telling stories, not sitting silently in a pub or park with all your friends’ texting each other photos.

You can use the memory in your head instead of the one in your phone. This new approach, let’s call it ‘vintage’ or ‘retro’ will have two positive effects.

It will improve your social skills and it should stop you getting arrested.

Always remember evidence is the key to any misdemeanor so don’t go handing it out to anyone. And in the above scenario make sure no one is recording the conversation. Heck just have a ‘FNPZ’.

‘Friends No Phone Zone ‘

This is the answer I think, and please, don’t do anything really abhorrent. Respect where you are and why you are there. If you want to be truly disgusting go somewhere it is common place, like Ibiza.

Don’t go somewhere beautiful and wonderful, and then urinate them off. Despicable acts will come back to bite us on the posterior, and the more naked we are, the more they will hurt.

Mark Scotchford © 13/06/2015

About markious72

Here I wish to let my strange and vivid imagination and opinions run wild. I do hope you like what you read. I would love to be a writer, I won't pretend otherwise. Although it is only in the last couple of years that I have realised it. I guess if it meant to happen it will. Happy reading, happier writing. :-)
This entry was posted in Prove I'm Wrong - Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

