Girl aged 9 accidentally shoots her gun instructor in the head

girl and gun

Guess where? Yep, you’ve guessed it, America.

I’m so flabbergasted by this; I’m almost unable to write about it. I could join dots; piece things together, quote facts and figures, but really are they necessary?

All you need really do is read this heading over and over again, and tell me whether you think it is perfectly natural to bear arms and show a girl how to fire a gun when she is 9, never mind at all?

The facts are it was an Uzi, an Uzi for god sake. Not just a gun, not a little gun but a sub-machine gun. It is favoured for short bursts of blanket automatic fire. In this tragic accident, I initially thought the gun was in ‘Single Shot’ mode and slipped somehow into ‘fully automatic’ mode but it didn’t. The instructor, called Charles Vacca, switched it into automatic mode and handed it back to her after she had already fired it in ‘Single Shot’ mode.

I’m sorry but……Jesus Christ, really? The gun weighs 3.2kg or 7.72 lbs. That is quite heavy and it is quite a large weapon too, not slight. Have you ever held a gun? Ever felt the kick from one when it is fired?

I’ve held a gun, but never fired one, and I’ve been assured the kick from even a small gun is quite substantial. Even a small gun has a substantial weight to it. And you’ll often see actors who aren’t even firing live rounds blink as they fire even when used to it because it is still quite a shock to the system.

I’m going to say this one fact again whilst I write this…. She was 9. Nine…… 9??????

Bullets and Burgers, yes, that’s the name of the place in Arizona where this happened has an age restriction of 8. Yes, 8. An eight year old accompanied can fire a gun. Her parents were filming the event.

I bet some eight year old can’t even get on amusement rides at that age……

A mid size saucepan full of water weighs about 5 lbs.  Two pounds lighter than this gun does. Hold that in one hand. It is quite heavy even for me and I’m 6 foot and weigh 14 stone. Do you think your 9 year old son or daughter would be strong enough to lift it in one hand? If so, would you ask them to walk around the house with this saucepan if the water in it was boiling? Would you feel they were safe?

Now imagine it was a sub-machine gun instead, and she wasn’t trained to hold it properly. As the gun was fired, it will lift up, and even if she was holding it correctly and supporting herself I doubt she would have the strength to hold it. And the initial momentum would have been one hell of a shock to control.

I’m not even going to write any more on this subject. Except to say my thoughts go out to the family of the instructor who died, who was an ex soldier. And my thoughts also go out to the little girl, who while following her parent’s guidance, has now killed someone. Even though she can’t legally drive, smoke, drink, or fornicate.

To think anymore about this is upsetting and actually makes me angry. Mr Obama, I know your tenure is tough and I know even if you change gun laws once you’re out of office they will probably be changed right back again, but…..

If America was ever waiting for a reason to change their gun law, not that there hasn’t been enough already, now…..right now would be a very good time.

Who agrees?

Mark Scotchford © 27/08/2014

About markious72

Here I wish to let my strange and vivid imagination and opinions run wild. I do hope you like what you read. I would love to be a writer, I won't pretend otherwise. Although it is only in the last couple of years that I have realised it. I guess if it meant to happen it will. Happy reading, happier writing. :-)
This entry was posted in Prove I'm Wrong - Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

