The Magician

You must be a magician
I must be your trick
I’m in sand
And sinking quick

You’ve got the black hat
I’ve seen the dove fly
I’m the rabbit again
I don’t know why

Smiling at me sweetly
Sawing me in half
Waiting for applause
The audience laugh

I won’t be in the next show
You’ll be on your own
I was the apprentice
Now I’ve grown

Just one trick
Up my sleeve
Juggle on your own now
I’ve got to leave

Away from this floor show
And all the charade
Fists have flown
We lay scared

Getting up
As the curtain descends
After so many performances
We can’t be friends

After so many acts
Don’t know which one was real
Sailing again
On an even keel

From stage to open sea
Time to say farewell
As the wind picks up
I cast the last spell

Mark Scotchford © 26/11/2005 Even though I wrote this 6 years ago, and we shouldn’t have favourites, (not even poems), this is mine.

About markious72

Here I wish to let my strange and vivid imagination and opinions run wild. I do hope you like what you read. I would love to be a writer, I won't pretend otherwise. Although it is only in the last couple of years that I have realised it. I guess if it meant to happen it will. Happy reading, happier writing. :-)
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

