Slut Walking – What, in these shoes?

I have to admire women. They are a fantastic species, they really are. Men, let’s be honest, we don’t stand a chance against them. They rule the world; men are just ‘front of house’.

The first I heard of Slut Walking was by a fantastic comedian called Andrew Maxwell who I saw at the Banana Cabaret in Balham. He was brilliant, as he described what this entitled ensemble would entail. As the name suggests, it’s fairly easy to work out what this will be, but less likely to envisage what will be the outcome, or indeed the goal. He said he’s going to do his own little march alongside it, called a creep crawl, with a false hand. The audience were in hysterics, I among them.

I thought the whole thing was a big joke until I found out it is real, and happening around the world. The one here is on the 4th June. Coincidentally, rather near my Birthday.

Like all these things, I was quite surprised at how it came about. Apparently, a Toronto police officer said:- ‘Women should avoid dressing like sluts in order not to be victimised.’

Hhhhmmmm, this idiot must have gone to the same charm school as the justice minister who came up with the ludicrous notion of there being three types of rape. It’s only a matter of time before some idiot describes being shot or dying in the same way. A point raised with far more humour, by the comic already mentioned.

Women do seem to be getting it…….in the neck, so to speak about the whole promiscuity thing, don’t you agree? For centuries women have been told to lie there and think of England, that sex is for their man, not for themselves. Now women are empowered, very sexually aware and enjoying it, they get told they are sluts, or they ‘were asking for it’, when they get it and didn’t want it at all, ever. It’s all a fine line for me and it’s a difficult line to walk (no matter how I’m dressed), with humour.

Caitlin Moran was writing about the same subject in an article for The Times, and said revolutions start with a local indignity that protesters feel gives them a chance to change things. For example, the Tunisian uprising was triggered by Mohammed Bouazizi setting himself alight after things being confiscated by police.

Now, I don’t hope to make a correlation between these two uprisings….. But I suppose they are both triggered by the same passion, with the same goals in mind.

Apparently the London Slut Walk has been organised by a 17 year old girl. Amazing and incredible though this is, it still makes me wonder why they are doing it in the first place.

They must know that while they are trying to say, we can wear what we want and should be allowed to, whenever we want and for no reason other than we want to, every woman on that march will feel power. They will feel fantastic, not victimised, they will feel as one with their fellow marcher, empowered, confident, strong, and good humoured and they should I hope have a great day.

Just so long as they don’t break a heal halfway through, or catch me maybe joining the creep crawl. They say the best things in life are free. It’s true; I don’t even have to buy a ticket.

Mark Scotchford © 28/5/2011 References: – Comedian Andrew Maxwell, columnist Caitlin Moran

About markious72

Here I wish to let my strange and vivid imagination and opinions run wild. I do hope you like what you read. I would love to be a writer, I won't pretend otherwise. Although it is only in the last couple of years that I have realised it. I guess if it meant to happen it will. Happy reading, happier writing. :-)
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slut Walking – What, in these shoes?

  1. That is a super-peachy-keen post. Thanks for really blathering on like that! Seriously, I don’t think I could have spent more effort wishing for something heavy to fall on me to erase that nonsense from my mind!

Leave a Reply

