The Brain Game – Chemical Discharging

For years I’ve been fascinated by the way chemicals are distributed within the brain. I know possible medications and even Class A drugs such as LCD and Ecstasy can be tailor made to induce a certain high or engage a type of mood. I’ve often wondered about the differences between the ways these drugs work and how Alcohol affects the brain in a totally different way.

Alcohol seems to paralyse the brain, shutting it down, only allowing core functions to survive and be processed, where other drugs act in a totally different way. I think I should point out my fascination with this subject hasn’t been born out of a long standing abuse of Class A substances or indeed a constant drunken stupor. Yes I do drink when the circumstances are propitious but I’ve never taken anything else. Not even a cigarette. Yuk, why would I?

My interest in this topic solely comes from wanting to know the answers to questions, and an enquiring and an inquisitive mind, which often leads me to the wrong conclusions.

This is where you come in and the name of this blog makes sense. You are here to ‘ProveI’mWrong’ when I make sweeping assumptions in this article. And I will be making them very soon I promise.

Correct me if I’m wrong but scientists don’t know how chemicals are released in the brain do they? During the course of social events with work, I have met numerous psychologists and psychiatrists and once, a psychiatrist said something to me which was very interesting. He said:- ‘The problem is, we know the part of the brain we want to get the medication to, but we can’t get it there. The issue is, when we give a patient a drug, the drug goes everywhere in the brain, not just where we want it, and that causes the side effects.’

Now just like the Ecstasy adjustment to the pills, there are other treatments which can stimulate certain parts of the brain only, and these can prove successful. The downsides are these treatments are few and far between, costly, and in some cases, very intrusive.

I think I know how chemicals are released in the brain, and I my reasons are based on nothing more than common sense and a practical insight. Look at the way nature is:- It’s symmetrical when it needs to be, direct, and balanced, and it doesn’t take the long way to something when the path of least resistance is true. I think we have to apply this to the way the brain works and how it would release chemicals quickly and easily.

Picture the brain like a circle. Picture yourself in that circle. Where would you stand if you had to get to any other point in that circle at any given time? You would stand in the middle wouldn’t you? This would allow you to get to any other point as quickly as possible, and it would maintain a balance.

To Be Continued…..

About markious72

Here I wish to let my strange and vivid imagination and opinions run wild. I do hope you like what you read. I would love to be a writer, I won't pretend otherwise. Although it is only in the last couple of years that I have realised it. I guess if it meant to happen it will. Happy reading, happier writing. :-)
This entry was posted in The Brain Game - Chemical Discharging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

